The road ahead…

I know this blog has been silent as my time has yet again been taken up with the latest round of roundups to Courtroom that have gleaned two more legal precedents… so I will take a moment to fill y’all in on a few details.

The first win at Jackson came after three weeks of working (by invitation) on issues at Jackson. BLM was not proactive in addressing a situation we saw in that area before. They attempted to use a justified issue (regardless of the root cause) to create a broad sweep action that was actually against their own policy. We made no headway in discussion so instead we won in Court.

What we won was more language to build on. That language has been sorely missing in the Courtroom conversations. However with each win the vocabulary and the credibility of the documentation brought by us grows.

Example the win in the Ninth Circuit created language that allowed the Restraining Order won last year to pilot conduct to be turned into an Injunctive Order (active) last week. Even though the case in the Ninth is on another issue the conversation related to roundups as a non-resolved issue as the actual operation appears over. So the conduct issue was able to stand on the access issue.

That same conduct issue then created the venue to bring Jackson to a win. That win has added new language that can now be used to solidify that BLM can’t use an issue (regardless of cause) in one quadrant to justify a broad sweep action. That has again given the horses another “piece.”

Just as the case in Owyhee that brought the closure of public land (i.e. no observation at all) into the realm of unconstitutional action but failed to bring the foaling season issue to the plate because the conversational language and the credibility with the Court had not been established. But because of that win daily observation became a reality… with that came the other two cases on that stone.

I have been extraordinarily busy this past year, and even more so these last six months, creating a few avenues. I have been working with other journalists and in venues that will bring other issues into the light.

Every one of these stepping stones came from a seemingly endless marathon that has included traveling on dirt roads alone in ice storms to conferences with government personnel and Courtroom action. The work is every day, almost all day.

I have focused on my work that you all expect from me. Yet every time I have another win ugly voices raise in the chorus of derision. Not from the “other side” but ours.

In the last two and a half years the documentation and cases I have stood for and worked my fanny off compiling and researching have brought the horses precedent of language in the battle that has not existed before. Each case that Cowan brings on my behalf has walked out with a win. He does not charge us full fee ever and has done a good chunk of this work gratis because there are no funds. I am sick to death of listening to those that make full fees held up as “better” than someone like that.

And to put my “lifestyle” into perspective I own nothing but a few items of clothing, three cameras, a computer and my dog. I do not even own solely the truck I drive. I can’t even get new glasses.

So if you want to support this work, support it. If you don’t at least recognize the validity and use the stepping stones to further the cause.

I have to get up at 5. There are several issues that are very pressing right now in holding and on the range. More soon.

8 thoughts on “The road ahead…

  1. Paula Denmon says:

    You have my undying support and gratitude and each time I get a commission paycheck, I share it with you. As of Sept 1, I get $1360/mo. and I will at least be able to participate in a small monthly contribution. Please..Help Laura and Attorney Cowen continue their work. Make a little commitment to support them in their HUGE commitment to the Wild Horses.

  2. Laura Leigh says:

    I thank you Paula. Yes… these wins belong to people like you. We have a young girl sell cupcakes and she raised $4.00. Her mom wrote a note and added the 6 to make it a ten dollar contribution. That donation came in the dead of winter… the roads were rough going… but her ten dollars got use a bit further down that road.
    Thank you Paula.

  3. damien11 says:

    The fundamental building blocks that you have constructed are made of your own, VERY personal, blood sweat and heartfelt tears; These solid blocks of truth have been put before the court by Mr. Cowen’s charitable and unwavering dedication to our wild ones; this has allowed Judge McKibben to see through the web of lies, and he is acting honorably for “We the People” and our constitutionally protect wild ones! The needed changes that will save our wild ones from disappearing forever and finally in sight! I know all you do is for the wild ones, every day, all day, and you can count on my continual support, and eternal gratitude.

  4. damien11 says:

    Comment from Tami Crisanti

  5. karibaskets says:

    My thoughts are with you and Mr Cowen.

  6. Zia Shields says:

    Your bravery and diligence and focus are what our Nation was made of….and every moment of every step you take, I am so very proud of you and applauding and supporting. You are always in my heart as you are truly on this road towards Freedom for our Horses and Burros. All I know is that they would be nowhere without your love and accomplishments. I thank you deeply from my heart. You are definitely not alone….I am by your side from afar.

  7. Jennifer Drake says:

    Laura , it’s Jen Drake, call me on my cell, . I can’t find your number or I’d call you. Sendng love and support. I hope to talk to you soon.

  8. Margaret says:

    Laura I know I don’t always have funds to help you and Mr. Cowan out but I do try to speak up for you when I can.

    I try to send money. And Mr. Cowan bless his heart i told him if hugs could pay him all that we owe him my hug would pay that bill. Sadly hugs don’t pay bills and they don’t pay for food.

    Even Deb Coffey and I talked and I can happily tell you that we are cool.

    Why anyone would slam you for all you do day in and day out, not only for us humans but for the horses is quite beyond me.

Leave a Reply

