Update

I know I have been rather “off the grid” for the last two weeks. But that does not mean I have not been working.

After dealing with transportation “nightmares” and a paperwork avalanche I muddled through “saturation.”

Yup. I hit the saturation mark that the rigors of being in the field and documenting all I have seen created. It was like a tidal wave that hit me from behind.

Hope dying of hoof slough (Indian Lakes/Broken Arrow)

Over two years ago I saw baby Hope dying after his feet began to literally separate from the bone after the stampede over volcanic rock at Calico through the sub zero temperatures and deaths of respiratory illness at Eagle to the helicopter pilot antics that created the TRO at Triple B.

On Valentines day of this year the Ninth Circuit granted my motion for access at the very same time I was leaving Stone Cabin frustrated at the lack of meaningful access to document capture and handling.

How many days on the range? Countless. How many hours prepping legal documents? Countless. How many hours editing video and publishing reports and photographs? Countless. How many days in Court? I have lost count.

Today I was allowed by Hon. Judge McKibben to file another motion on the inhumane treatment I have seen. A press release should be out first thing in the morning.

I have crafted three reports: Handling, Access and Communication on BLM actions I have witnessed and documented. I am finishing a report “Viability? What does that mean?”

The press release will be out in the morning and the reports will be released as soon as they are proofed and presented.

I am still here.

8 thoughts on “Update

  1. Lisa LeBlanc says:

    Oh, c’mon, Laura; where the hell else wouldja be??

    (blessings upon you and yer little dog, too. keep warm/cool/dry/hydrated/nourished/vitamin-ed/rested(chuckle)/caffinated and beware of carpal-tunnel…)

    Breath all bated, waitin’ on the next chapter!

    • Laura Leigh says:

      I guess it’s like the alkali… once you drive through it… the stuff never leaves you.

      It aint the carpal tunnel… it’s the peepers. Think I might need new glasses. : )

  2. polopaula says:

    We know. We miss you. But we know what is important You are the most intelligent, strong, committed advocate that I have ever known for any issue. I can send money next month. I feel so bad when I can’t.

  3. Barbara says:

    God bless you and the horses, Laura. You have done so much. There are not adequate words to thank you.
    Did you know I adopted a BLM mare from the Triple B ? She was captured Aug. 6, 2011 and is in foal. Do you know what HMA’s originally made up the Triple B?

    • LisaN. says:

      Barbara congratulations on your adoption! Enjoy the special relationship with these magical creatures. Hope she has a boy and your in a position to keep him intact (might need the gene pool soon!).

  4. LisaN. says:

    Laura, thank you again for what you are doing. Documenting genocide is not a desirable task. We (I) don’t expect you to be online every day so please don’t feel pressured. I appreciate the updates. Are you referring to genetic viability? This is an extremely urgent point. I have never seen the BLM use a viable number in regards to their random AML’s. I’m reading Craig’s book and the safe number is 2500 (per herd). So these ridiculous AML’s are setting our wild ones up for extinction without a doubt.

  5. Lauren Paytes says:

    Laura, thank you for all you do on behalf of horses everywhere. As nice as it is to hear updates, you have more important work to do. May God eternally bless you for all that you do!

  6. Margaret says:

    Laura I know I sound like a broken record but you take all the time you need to get reports to us. We know how busy you are. And it ain’t over til its over.

    We can wait. I know I look forward to each and every report you get to us. But all of that takes time. Driving takes time. Every single aspect of what you do takes time. You get things to us as fast you can. WE ALL JUST HAVE TO BE PATIENT!

    God bless you Laura for all do here, for the horses and for us.

Leave a Reply

