Hold Your Wild Horses…

There is a lot of “talk” about BLM calling Triple B tomorrow. Folks saying DC is saying tomorrow is the last day.

Since when has DC ever been informed on the reality of what is going on?

AS in any case there are documents filed. After they are filed the contents become “public knowledge” and are open for disclosure.

BLM responses will be posted soon along with declarations from our motion. There will be clear areas of “interest” to any conversation that wants to learn how this agency operates in a Coutroom. There will be clear areas that demonstrate how citations of case law (and their interpretations) can be far reaching.

My head needs to go back down.

I wanted to address issues as well of other rumors. In no way is this case supported by any agency or individual that has “big pockets.” In no way is my work “funded” by anything but you.

I promise you that I am trying. But there is a destructive element that impedes progress. I am a human being, and like any other, have my limitations of patience and tolerance.

33 thoughts on “Hold Your Wild Horses…

  1. Darcy says:

    Really, I haven’t heard that about Triple B, I was just there Sat 8/27/11 & till noon on Sun 8/28/11. Laura can you direct me to where this is being said? I would like to see it

  2. polopaula says:

    What can I personally do to help? Really, just let me know. Today I am 65.. I know about limitations, but I also know your spirit.
    send me an email if you had rather.
    So proud of you!

  3. Mar Wargo says:

    Lisa G said yesterday; No published date but just got off the phone with JoAnn Worley. Last gather date is tomorrow (tuesday) and remaining horses to be shipped out on Wednesday. I asked if I could quote her and she said “Certainly.”

    Is it your opinion then that Worley spoke prematurely? If the new lawsuit is intimidating, shouldn’t BLM stop Triple B now?

    If they stop on their own where does that put the TRO and details?
    mar

    • Laura Leigh says:

      I have an affidavit from Shepard to the contrary filed by BLM today.
      They are going to water trap and look for a gap in the schedule to bring the choppers back to TB.

  4. Barbara Warner says:

    Laura, of course you have your limitations but you are a terrific person with more courage and determination than most. God bless you and the horses.
    I gave a packet of info to Senator Paul last week but I wonder if he even looked through it. Sorry I can’t do more but I will keep trying .

  5. LisaG. says:

    Laura,

    I didn’t say anything about anyone in D.C. I spoke to JoAnn who has a Nevada (775) number and posted what she told me. I think she told me what she knew to be true but I’m not surprised to hear they would try to go back to scoop up every horse they could since, as you mentioned, they got a late start.

    I believe they water trapped at the beginning of the Elko part of Triple B. At least that is what I was told by Ken Miller. I surmised it was why they gathered such a large number of horses in the first week.

    If you would rather I not relay what I’m told by the BLM then I will keep “mum” from here on out.

    • Laura Leigh says:

      I got other emails, not just your post….
      no … relay what they say…
      it shows how they all say something different!
      : )

      • LisaG. says:

        Worley was fairly pleasant on the phone, which is not always the case with some. However, and I’m not defending her, but it sounds like the information from Shepherd is new. She was going by the original plan and Shepard probably hasn’t told the troops about the “new” plan.

        I don’t want her to go out on a limb by giving me information and then have it cut off behind her.

        • Mar Wargo says:

          Lisa, Don’t worry about her. She is there to give out information to the public. Most BLM people try to answer questions as best they can but they are not all briefed on lawsuits and Laura’s work. Most BLM employees are polite and informative and there is nothing personal in your requests for information. mar

        • Laura Leigh says:

          No sweat Lisa. I received other emails as well giving the same info that is not the same as what has been given to the Court.

          I am working as fast as I can.
          RT is in the air and can’t get him as of yet.

          Please keep in mind that I have been in field do daily posts and videos then moving even faster researching and crafting documents and looking for those that could respond fast.
          Prepping the attorney, that just lost his dad, for Court. Writing press releases and trying to fundraise for the case and work….

          I need to get clearance before a release of information is made.

          I always share as fast as humanely possible.

          Personally I like to hear the “odd” bits of info that conflict as “official” statements.
          I like to hear interpretations of events and look at documentation to learn about the people involved.

          I also have responses to craft to get to attorney by midnight.

          I will download a pic of Elvis and share that shortly as well.
          He has been to more HMA’s and days of roundup activity than any other government personnel in the last 18 months….
          : )
          Although he spent all but 2 days of Triple B in air conditioning with a buddy of his.

  6. You guys, the Triple B is scheduled until the end of the month & tomorrow is the end of the month…at least the Butte Valley gather, is there something else we should know. Laura I am not questioning you, I just would like to know where folks are talking about DC stopping it tomorrow, when it is supposed to stop anyway!

  7. Lisa LeBlanc says:

    Laura – can you update anything on the black bay yearling stud who’s Poppa was looking out for him?

    Don’t know why, but that’s tearing me up as much as the little foal…

  8. Louie Cocroft says:

    Laura, George Knapp mentioned Andrew Cohens’s article in the ATLANTIC on his show last night. He also gave the link. That program reaches millions of people….here and in other countries.

    • Jill says:

      Louie, is there a link to George’s show to view broadcasts? This show last night that you have mentioned? Do you have Andrew Cohen’s article or the link to that?

      Thanks!

      • savewildhorses says:

        Go to RT Fitch’s blog and scroll through them til you get to the Atlantic articles. Should be 2. His article, then another rebuttal to the BLM response to his article.

  9. Jill says:

    And those little foals in the foal pen… that beautiful little white one!

    Who will care for them?!

    Who will care for all these beautiful, injured horses!

    Did they run out of horses to round up? Or is the helicopter feeling the stress?! Is this reason for the rumor that it is ended?

    DC you are the pits! Thanks so much President Obama for your “integrity” and promises of hope! You are the biggest pit of all!

  10. Laura if you have an affadavit that they will be water trapping & bringing the heli’s back, please show us. I was there yesterday & the gather is supposedly over tomorrow anyway…please share.

    • Laura Leigh says:

      I’m working on the Press Releases and getting clearance to post documents.

      Have you posted daily reports? Has anyone of the last couple of days that I can look at while I was working on the doc’s?
      Feel like I’ve been in a “time warp” sitting with no windows typing!
      : )

  11. Ronnie says:

    Maybe it got too “hot” (wi/publicity/public knowledge out there) for DC>>>DOI/BLM/Salazar/Abbey and they are presumably stopping the gather to (((AGAIN)))), do “damage control,” i.e. cover a**.

  12. Jill says:

    Elvis, you are a loyal and dedicated companion!

    Send us a picture…

    We love you too!!!

    Thank you, for you and your Mom’s steadfastness.

    Maybe R.T. can do a Sunday post on Elvis and Laura, together working to protect our wild horses. A feel good post about a team that encounters many adversities, fighting for preservation and protection.

  13. savewildhorses says:

    Here’s the gather report through yesterday. They have gathered 1270 horses!!! NONE returned to the range. 10 deaths.

    Do you know how many horses were on the range before they started? I’d like to know the percentage of horses they are removing.

    http://www.blm.gov/nv/st/en/fo/ely_field_office/blm_programs/wild_horses_and_burros/triple_b__maverick/gatreports.html

    Hang tough. Take care of yourself.

    • LisaG. says:

      From the BLM press release:

      ” … approximately 1,726 excess wild horses scheduled to be removed. The appropriate management level (AML) for the entire area is 472-889 animals, but the current estimated population is 2,198.”

      They plan to remove 78% of their “estimated” number of 2198 (and who knows if their estimated number is correct?)

      • savewildhorses says:

        So, 80% removal is SOP these days? How is that management? That is extreme culling. And you are correct. I would say they most likely have overestimated the number of horses to begin with, so this culling is probably closer to 85-90% removal of horses. This is just a sickness at this point.

  14. savewildhorses says:

    Laura, be sure to link your wild horse education website somehow to your FB page so people can go there and donate easily from FB. Or maybe it’s creating a page for your website. Just an idea for raising needed funds.

  15. Mar Wargo says:

    You will link us to BLM’s written response?

  16. Laura, I posted up what I got on Saturday, the other girls are still up there. I was only there a portion of Sunday & not at the trap, had to get back to Vegas.

    • Laura Leigh says:

      Are the others posting “updates?”
      Trust me… I know what it’s like to do this thing everyday and then get photos and video edited and out. To struggle to find connections that last long enough to upload.
      Ely/Elko is actually not the most difficult.
      Baker was really bad.

      But folks at home really want to know what happens… so many nights I would get less than 5 hours sleep. Getting info out to every organization that needs it and can get it to bigger audiences…
      : )

      Been really under the gun getting these documents crafted. Even less time… it’s like running the marathon of my life.
      For almost two years now… constant.

      Let me know when daily counts from advocates go up. It is interesting to match them up.

  17. I wish that there were something more that I can do…
    Thanks to you, Laura and all of the others that are out there documenting this madness. I feel so helpless. I send letters to my representatives and I get the same stupid form letter back from them. I’ve sent photos and videos and they just don’t care…

  18. Barbara Warner says:

    I received a canned reply from Senator Rand Paul (R-KY) concerning our wild horses after I personally handed him a packet of information. His reply was BLM BS so I don’t think he even looked at it. I have called his D.C. office too and have been sent the same reply again. His reply about horse slaughter is another form letter indicating he is pro-slaughter. If anybody wants to call him please do so.

Leave a Reply

