TRO filed, personal perspective

I have been working non-stop for the last 4 days on these documents with my attorney Gordon Cowan of Reno.

Read TRO HERE

What I document in my almost daily observations of horses either on the range, in holding or at trap sites is more akin to a “feral livestock trash removal” operation than the humane care of a protected equine species. This animal is the only animal in our country to have an entire act of Congress devoted to it’s protection and humane treatment. Yet the agency fails to enforce the most basic of humane standard of care. This “conversation” is overdue after 40 years of this Act being in the hands of a “land management” agency.

During Triple B I have travelled back and forth across the state three times. I had a friend get altitude sickness and she went to the hospital. I have had my dog get sick. “Our” attorney, Gordon Cowan, lost his father last weekend.

But the Motions got filed. I went through the photos and edited more video. I looked at doc’s and did research. It all breaks my heart. Looking at situations that would cause most horse owners to be cited yet searching for an avenue of accountability… and the actions are perpetrated by my own government…. it boggles the mind and simply hurts my “American” soul.

There are a few of you that have helped with this effort and I am forever grateful that you have faith in me to bring this forward. I am trying. I pray everyday that I find the door and the right words…

Most of my family is currently on the East Coast in the path of Irene.

I still have work to do… an awful lot of work to do… but tonight I just wanted to express my gratitude, as a human being, to those of you that have had the fortitude to stand tall. It aint easy. It aint over….

Before the chopper flies...

http://WildHorseEducation.org

21 thoughts on “TRO filed, personal perspective

  1. polopaula says:

    As always, my gratitude. I read the entire TRO, and thought it was wonderfully done. Very astute and to the point. I am hoping and praying for the much deserved positive outcome. How could the TRO not be granted? To do otherwise would be a travesty of justice and humanity.
    In the next two weeks, I will be able to make another contribution to your work, with great respect for what all of you are doing.
    Thanks, Thanks to you and all..

  2. Mar Wargo says:

    We are on the next level, Laura. Because of you. Thanks. We have wanted this and did not how or when it would happen. It is here!

  3. […] is an unedited post from Laura Leigh’s blog which she published early this morning…it speaks volumes and […]

  4. Forest Horse says:

    gratitude to you Laura. You are an excellent wordsmith as well as an openhearted advocate.

  5. elissa kline says:

    I am grateful to you for your courage and stamina, for the bravery I know it takes to witness the cruelty of the BLM round ups.
    Having witnessed only one round up of the Challis herd in Idaho, a herd I’d been photographing for many years, I must say that I don’t now how you do it. I felt so traumatized by the round up, and then seeing horses I knew in the wild standing, injured, broken in BLM holding pens.
    You are doing important work. I bow to you. I thank you for putting your eyes and heart out there with the wild ones. Bless you, Laura Leigh for staying out there,

  6. Margaret says:

    Laura I am so glad that you and your attorney filed this suit. This video of Josh once again hitting a horse that is so very tired, confused and scared–just shows how inhumane BLM and their contractors are.

    After running them they don’t offer water?. Unbelievable. And to not ensure moms and their babes are not pairing up?again shows the blatant disregard these folks have for the equines.

    BLM sure hit the bottom of the barrel on these contractors.

  7. Louie Cocroft says:

    Laura, give our sympathy to Gordon.

  8. Louie Cocroft says:

    A collective prayer that you, your family and Elvis are safe.

  9. Barbara Warner says:

    Thank you and Gordon for this, Laura. Also my condolences to him on the loss of his dad. I pray for a positive outcome.

  10. LisaG. says:

    Just re-read this AM on Triple B. It’s August 28th. They are still 500 horses short of their state goal of removing 1726. If you go by the press release, the roundup should be over or ending soon. Right?

    source for below quote: August 13, 2011 http://www.blm.gov/nv/st/en/info/newsroom/2011/august/triple_b_gather_continues.html

    “For the next two weeks the BLM will continue operations on the Maverick-Medicine and Antelope Valley Herd Management Areas (HMAs), located within the BLM Elko District approximately 30 miles northwest of Ely and 70 miles southeast of Elko, Nev. The gather will conclude on areas in or adjacent to the Triple B HMA in late August.”

    Laura, my condolences to Gordon as well.

    • Laura Leigh says:

      Because of the original delay in starting this operation it may drag on a bit. Sun J appears to be “needed” at Barren Valley… but that’s another week away.

      I can’t find any exact date for the end of this…. that have been published since the change (actual) start date.

      • LisaG. says:

        Laura, that press release was issued on August 13th and says the roundup to be over at the end of August. Gives them three more days, I guess.

        I have also noticed the temps and the BLM’s wx data for the past few days has forecast temps to be mid to upper 90’s. Must be even more miserable than usual!

        • Laura Leigh says:

          Actually they can argue to extend it.
          I was looking for a published exact date. If you see one let me know.
          Thanks.

          • Mar Wargo says:

            There has been a very conspicuous lack of new, accurate? published dates for roundups this year. I have a copy of one RT had and some notes from BLM changes. Nothing better. Triple B was spanning 2 months at 6 weeks.

          • LisaG. says:

            No published date but just got off the phone with JoAnn Worley. Last gather date is tomorrow (tuesday) and remaining horses to be shipped out on Wednesday. I asked if I could quote her and she said “Certainly.”

          • Laura Leigh says:

            That’s because we got a judge and a date.

          • Mar Wargo says:

            And this roundup is coming to a close. Good.

  11. Mar Wargo says:

    Barren Valley Complex is at least 20 days for the capture of 626 and remove 258 and PZP 140 mares. They had the release 50 geldings, too. Don’t know where that stands.

  12. Mar Wargo says:

    For Gordon, On the loss of your father, my sympathy. Take good care and thank you for all you do for the wild ones. You have been patient and generous in the biggest way! I am always aware you are there. With respect, Mar Wargo

  13. Mar Wargo says:

    Was Worley incorrect??? mar

Leave a Reply

