Technical Difficulties

I will get photos up after I can see enough to upload. I hope this makes sense… It’s hot and I thought I would have a day to “get things done” but the internet situation coupled with the glare has made it difficult.

I have had many interesting conversations and it will take a day to write it and edit video. But I do need to move…

I will be back on later after the sun goes down and I can see.

Edited to add pics:

Riddle mares and foals arrive at Burns Corral

Riddle mares and foals

Stallions removed from the Riddle HMA the day before

9 thoughts on “Technical Difficulties

  1. Forest Horse says:

    Great report. Thank you so much.

  2. Louie Cocroft says:

    Laura, Thank you! You had to travel a long ways to get to Oregon. It’s GOOD to hear something more positive. Even with 100% adoption rate, self-sustaining Herds ARE THE GOAL. I am convinced that can be accomplished.
    The observation issue….is that coming from the stock contractors?

  3. Louie Cocroft says:

    I’ve seen too many Mustangs for sale on Craig’s list. Even when they are adopted, their fate hangs in the balance.

    • Laura Leigh says:

      This corral actually goes an extra mile when they are contacted by folks having issues.
      I have a few more stories to tell.

      Yes, genetic viability as a wild population.
      A herd that can be self sustaining IS a wild population.

      No matter your feeling on wild v. feral, Congress mandates that they be managed as “wild and integral.” It’s the law.

  4. Barbara Warner says:

    Thank you so much , Laura. Don’t melt in the heat.

  5. Kim says:

    Laura,
    You look spectacular! Your presentation was fabulous! The material was inviting! Thank you. I appreciate the work u do. I wish fresh fruit could be available to you each and every day. :} – Kim

  6. Lee Williams says:

    Glad to see that you feel the Burns BLM did a good job. When all party’s work together it can only be good news for the mustangs. Hope you have a good dealings with them in the future.

    • Laura Leigh says:

      Hopefully we can get that attitude to grow program wide.
      WE are now in 2011… it’s time to drag this program into today and out of historic prejudice.

      The facility was a refreshing experience.

      The lack of transparency at the roundup was the same manipulation of fact to keep the public from viewing. This has been the case since the Calico “public pressure.”

      I would like to see AML increase to genetic viability for a wild population. Right now there is a small breedong operation, well run, but not management as intended by law.

  7. Ericka Schelstraete-Savage says:

    Hi Laura! I came across your blog on the Kiger roundups and noticed that the last picture on this “Technical Difficulties” blog is a picture of the dun Kiger stud that I adopted. He is the dun with white star starring right at you with 6 other studs. He was rounded up on July 11, 2011 the last day of roundups. Only 7 studs were rounded up that day, he was one of them. Do you happen to have any other pictures from that day either at the Riddle trap site or on processing day? I’m trying to compile a photo catalog of my boy. Of course I realize you have a life and I’m a complete stranger asking something of you. So, if you don’t have the time I completely understand. Thanks for your consideration in advance. 🙂

Leave a Reply

