Trapped

Note: I have been notified that many people are trying to post and are not being allowed. It appears that emails are bouncing and videos are also not playing. I will check to see if anyone has accessed my computer and screwed with settings. This may take a day or so, sorry for the issue.
 
 
 

Trap site from Antelope

I have been on a data collection mission. Checking out new issues and tracking down the old. But I had to revisit… I had to go sit at the old trap sites from this past winter.

Sitting there I felt like a Vietnam veteran that had returned home… to be criticized… and left with the private memories from hell to deal with alone. I could still hear the chopper blades and the horses calling to each other.

The trampled and broken sage marked each trap clearly. The evidence of the unnatural occurance. The evidence of the violent removal in such a beautiful serene place… and not a horse to be seen at any of the sites. The horse sign old… weathered.

As Elvis (my dog) and I traveled the highway from place to place I saw two horses. They were pacing the fenceline… one on either side of the highway separated by barbed wire run along the highway of our “public land.” I stopped to photograph them. They looked at me… and nature took it’s course… they were together last night.

I got back into my truck and began to shake. I couldn’t stop. I was not crying… I was not “emotional.” But the tremors that took my body had me find a hotel room and not spend another night on the range.

It is morning and I am going back “on the road.”

So much to do. So much information to get into hands that are more powerful than mine. More legal documents to prep… more prayers to say.

Romeo

Juliet

http://wildhorseeducation.org

One thought on “Trapped

  1. arlene says:

    Take strength from the fact that so many many are behind you backing you 100 percent Laura, there is no one quite like you out there how lucky you will prove the Mustangs are to have you !!!! I cry with you for them !!!!! It has all been a horrible nitemare for all of us……………………….especially the Mustang………..they are innocent of any thing wrong , they only give all they have and we realize the importance of their very being, hoping the New Judge will use his greatest abilitly and force the BLM to return them to the safe Land that belongs to them………… and futher prosicutions evolve from all of this needless horror…………………….for aLL AT the BLM and anyone else responsible for this Great American Tragedy………….I now pray to the Higher Power to also help all of us to help them…………………. I have wished many times to be there with you to help………………………

Comments are closed.