Recharge the batteries

Want to apologize about getting behind on my emails. Had to get final prep done for Court and the half dozen other projects I’m participating in.

Had to spend the last couple of days “recharging.” I went to see my old draft mares. I went to see my beloved Calico stallions.

Commander and General

Commander and General

These two are always together. Commander is 25 and General 22. General is such a strong stallion. I watch him with the others. His actions are never “big,” but so subltle. He can get the whole group to move by changing his facial expression and shifting his weight. Commander is steady and loyal.

My Boy True

True Boy

General’s son, True is still with his dad.

I walk around with them now and there is no fence. I sit and they stand there with me. I listen to them chew and have no more fear that they will be separated and disappear. It is the most amazing feeling.

Return to Freedom is working to bring them home… but for now they are safe. I know where they are…

Batteries recharged.

Together

I love this old man

Impossible?

9 thoughts on “Recharge the batteries

  1. sandra longley says:

    Yep-this is what its all about-the hope the “few” proud and free will eventually become the “many” proud and free..someday the drops of rain will again be an ocean.

  2. Mar Wargo says:

    So good to hear about the boyz. I do miss them and think of them. All look well. It must be great to sit with them. That is sweet. mar

  3. Cindy Cartwright says:

    they are beautiful…and so are you.

    Keep fighting the good fight.

    Thank You!

  4. Laura Leigh says:

    Ready for another round…
    : D
    recharged my soul

  5. R.T. Fitch says:

    Funny how they give back so much yet ask for so very little.

  6. Barbara Warner says:

    They have given you the strength and inspiration to go on, Laura.
    Thank you.

  7. Linda Horn says:

    Happy to hear you’re taking what little time you’ll allow yourself to “recharge”. We all know how hard you work and how many miles you travel.

    So good to see pictures of the “boyz” and know they’re safe and “in company”, even if it’s unnatural company. Just went to the “Return to Freedom” website and opened the “Calico Stallions” story. How are the others (including the paint mare and her filly), doing?

Leave a Reply

