Calico Confusion

Just want to take a moment to try to sort out some of the confusion about where the Calico horses are going.

Craig Downer purchased Lightning and the old mare 0101.

Mares and fillies are going to Dream Catchers.

And Return to Freedom has taken in the stallions (General and crew).

If you want to help with expenses please now go to those websites and mark donations either calico stallions or calico mares.

There is a really nice article on the AWHPC site about the stallions.

http://www.wildhorsepreservation.org/news/?p=1530

Boyz at the pile

33 thoughts on “Calico Confusion

  1. R.T. Fitch says:

    Thanks for all you do, Laura.

    • Laura Leigh says:

      At least General, Commander and True wont be separated. You know I love those boys.

      Thank you, too RT.

      Right now I need to find a new truck. My old 81 may not fit the workload anymore! I know you “appreciated” my charming “home.”
      : )

      Back to reports.

      • R.T. Fitch says:

        Something tells me that I am going to live with the comment “Does she leak oil?” for a very long time.

        One thing I have learned over the years about Boss Mares, they never forget. B-(

        • Laura Leigh says:

          And I’ll never forget how many times you’ve “had my back.”

          BTW: She didn’t leak oil… just a little tranny fluid. The old girl and I have traveled close to 70,000 miles in under a year… American made.

          Big Hug to y’all… and give Bart an extra kiss from me.

      • Linda says:

        Laura, I can’t thank you enough for everything you do!

        What specific vehicle are you looking at? Could it qualify as a tax writeoff?

  2. Polly says:

    I wrote to BLM to ask if they would contact the bidders on the other two stallions you all did not get and they did not reply

  3. Polly says:

    when will the horses actually get out of horse jail?

  4. Anna says:

    Cat Kindsfather wrote:

    So, neither did the other elegant filly I mentioned to you, “Precious.” I verified the email request I made for them with Tim Green, the following day at Palomino Valley, and thought all was well, but apparently not, according to John! John stated he did not get the requests in time, though I did email them before midnight on the last day!

    Anne’s comment: You should keep the emails for future reference; for example; if the purpose of the BLM Rounduups is to “adopt out or sell any Wild Mustangs for their own benefit; then John Neil should have taken your bid; I have never seen such “doublespeak in my entire life !

    • cat Kindsfather says:

      Anna, to be exact, I did not make a bid, but rather a request that they go into the online adoption auction. Then you register to bid. Then you can make a bid, and so can anyone else! High bidder wins.
      BYW, I read Terri’s new story, its great!

      • Anna says:

        hello oh well whatever; my message is: the BLM should not be “selling wild mustangs and burros;

        they should be adopting them out only; the rule they have of only being allowed to adopt 4 mustangs year

        is counterproductive; a person should adopt many !

        or a rescue ! no matter which way you say it: BLM is NG

  5. jan eaker says:

    So happy for the stallions and fillies, am very glad Craig got his Lightening, I know the bidding on him was enthusiastic, wish more of the geldings had gotten adopted, but very grateful that so many were adopted, please keep is updated as you can!
    Take care,

  6. Darcy says:

    Laura, I just want to thank you for all you do, I know it’s a hard thing. If you ned anything just call :).

  7. Darcy says:

    wosh I could type hahah. Need anything LOL

  8. morganlvr says:

    Be SURE to go to that link Laura posted. GREAT pictures of the Boyz!

  9. cat Kindsfather says:

    I am having trouble with the link posting! Hum, if it does not post now, I will share the photo to your email.

  10. Polly says:

    I have noticed the high number of broken necks and spinal injuries causing death on BLM’s site. Certainly this should be brought up as a cruelty charge or they should be saying what they are doing to reduce this

  11. Anna says:

    http://www.wildhorsepreservation.org/news/?p=1530

    THANKS TO ALL; good to see these familiar faces are rescued…

    this is my first roundup following day to day; hope its my last

  12. Anna says:

    Polly wrote:

    I have noticed the high number of broken necks and spinal injuries causing death on BLM’s site. Certainly this should be brought up as a cruelty charge or they should be saying what they are doing to reduce this…

    Anne’s comment: yeah; how many of those do you think were just plain stress; and the blm says: spinal injury etc. nonsense; they just say that because they don’t know WHY so many Mustang “keel over and perish @ the BLM Corrals !

    I found out Mustangs must have Sodium; if not they Keel over; Mustangs must have Magesium and Thiamine Vit. B1

    if not: a Mustang can literally “keel over…the blm folks…
    they don’t know if you give a mustang hay which is high in Potassium; you have to give Sodium Salt blocks to Balance!

    • Anna says:

      PS One hundred-eleven Wild Mustangs perished IN the corrals at Fallon NV AFTER being rounded up…
      Seven Mustangs perished @ the gather site before Corrals

      that is One Hundred and Eighteen Mustangs perished @ the Fallon Corrals after being rounded up…as I wrote to the BLM recently; “that is nothing to be proud of ! ! !

      118 + 130 PVC 2007 wow the number grows daily !! +
      Tuscarora 35; imagine the foals at Calico not counted…

      the blm is an embarassement to the us gov and peoples!

  13. cat Kindsfather says:

    So are my comments that are awaiting moderation actually censored?

    • Laura Leigh says:

      I do not have time to get to a spam folder… If you add links that wordpress can’t figure out you will pop into spam.

      Are you posting links…?

      I just checked the spam folder and there is nothing in there from you….?

      email me at the barn door addy…. my blog has been screwed with in the past by others….

  14. cat Kindsfather says:

    NO, not posting links. I was referring to the old conversations.
    Well at least I know that you are alive!!! I got a response right away. : )
    I have been worried about you and Elyse out in the desert working as you have been. You two have gonyatzees!!!! So have you gotten a new ride yet. I heard Elyse acquired another car. Good news there!

    Do you know who all attended the first day at the “Trail of Tears” @ Twin Peaks? I know C. D. and C. D. were there.

    Take care

    • Laura Leigh says:

      Elyse is in CA right now. I’m in Nevada….

      The old conversations that were removed were the ones I belive you asked me to remove. I removed mine as well.

      No… have not solved my issue yet with transportation.
      Or the various other equipment issues I seem to face that others seem to avoid… It is a very interesting process…

Leave a Reply

