Return to Freedom Calico

Return to Freedom

http://www.returntofreedom.org/support/donations.html

Use donation button on this page and when you get to a screen (paypal) please add special instructions that your donation is to pull the Calico Stallions.

Return to Freedom is going to step in and take the stallions. They are now heading the effort!

Donate there and mark “Calico Stallions!”

I will transfer any thing received to them.

Give us all a minute to respond to you .

Still navigating a few bumps.

Most of them on my head…

: )

Back to work!

If you have issues getting to the appropriate place to donate to make sure the funds go for the boys email:

Deniz_b@yahoo.com

This post was put in the Comments. If anyone can help her please call….

I WAS SET TO ADOPT 1045 “LEGACY” BUT I HAVE NOT BEEN ABLE TO FIND A PLACE WHERE HE CAN STAY AROUND RENO. IF YOU KNOW OF SOMEONE WHO COULD KEEP THIS LITTLE HORSE FOR A COUPLE OF MONTHS PLEASE LET ME KNOW. AT PRESENT I AM IN THE PROCESS OF RELOCATING IN RENO. IF I DON’T FIND A PLACE I CANNOT ADOPT HIM. I DON’T WANT “LEGACY” TO GO THROUGH ANY MORE TORTURE THAN HE HAS. PLEASE CALL ME. (818)899-1862.

37 thoughts on “Return to Freedom Calico

  1. You will get to see them, L. mar

  2. jan eaker says:

    what about the mares/fillies?

  3. Linda says:

    Many thanks to Return to Freedom for coming to the rescue of the stallions. And Laura, “Back to work!” is such an understatement. Keep safe and Godspeed!

  4. jan eaker says:

    Happy for the stallions, I’m assuming they won’t have any amres with them?

    FYI, don’t know if you’ve had a chance to look at the adoption pages recently, # 1366 has a bid on him, didn’t know if that’s Tomahawk or not.
    #1078, the black gelding w/the big white blaze is a popular guy, he has 20 bids on him so far, #1024, the appy gelding has 19 and has the high bid of $355.00.
    Keep up the good work you are doing!

  5. jan eaker says:

    wow, can’t type this am, MARES with them!

    • Laura Leigh says:

      Stallions will be kept as a bachelor group. For now that is the intention.

      My personal philosophy (because I am so familiar with slaughter) is once they leave the range they are now governed by the laws of domestics. I have seen too much horror there.

      Mares will be kept in the group (if we can get through the obstacles that the BLM can’t seem to figure out the route). But I am not the one spearheading that and we will have answers soon.

  6. Phyllis says:

    Laura I want to contribuite to the stalliion and Calico fund to save them. Unable to imput where I want donation to go to.Can you direct me some where or sent me your address to my email and I will sent a check to you overnight. This is so important ! God Bless you. I am so thankful that you are doing this. Keep us informed who we need to bidand I will see if a rescue I know take any horses. I’l keep in touch. Thanks

  7. Barbara Warner says:

    Any word yet from the judge on the other 2 roundups in the Tuscarora area?
    I wish the whole country could see George Knapp’s reports and the recent one of you and Elyse with him flying over the HMA’s slated for the other 2 rounds ups.

  8. Jo De George says:

    contributing. please call upon me if there is anything else you need, Laura.

  9. Anna says:

    Mr. Craig Downer is also accepting contributions for a single Stallion named Lightning; his e-mail: ccdowner@yahoo.com

    I saw the stallion Tomahawk too; heartbreaking; hope the projects come through for them; as denize indicated; etc.

    I was sick to see the markings of an Appolosa marred by the freezebrand; one of those spotted mustang Appolosas

    where the spots look like puffs of snow + puffy white clouds; and then the “freezebrand ruins mustang’s colors !

  10. SHIRLEY LE GARDE says:

    I WAS SET TO ADOPT 1045 “LEGACY” BUT I HAVE NOT BEEN ABLE TO FIND A PLACE WHERE HE CAN STAY AROUND RENO. IF YOU KNOW OF SOMEONE WHO COULD KEEP THIS LITTLE HORSE FOR A COUPLE OF MONTHS PLEASE LET ME KNOW. AT PRESENT I AM IN THE PROCESS OF RELOCATING IN RENO. IF I DON’T FIND A PLACE I CANNOT ADOPT HIM. I DON’T WANT “LEGACY” TO GO THROUGH ANY MORE TORTURE THAN HE HAS. PLEASE CALL ME. (818)899-1862.

    • Tami says:

      Hi Shirley, try finding a local trainer who could take Legacy. I am going to adopt one of the horses and was in the same situation as you and couldn’t find anyone to take her. Then I went to http://www.extrememustangmakeover.com and found a trainer in my area. I contacted him and he’s agreed to keep her (and train her) until I can bring her home. Good luck! Tami

    • Anna says:

      Hi Anne, from Elyse Gardner July 30th; 2010 re: Legacy

      I did my absolute best. It almost worked out. The sanctuary was not able to get Legacy’s bid.
      We are told that an experienced wild horse owner has bid on Legacy, so he will have a home.
      The people will definitely be told that if things don’t work out, he will be welcome at the sanctuary. BLM cannot and does not disclose who the buyers are, but the sanctuary is assured that this is a good home for this young horse.

      I am so sorry it didn’t work out the other way. I truly did my absolute best for this little guy. We all have done our best. Sigh.
      Elyse

      Anne’s comment: I hope Legacy’s owner treat him well…!

  11. Anna says:

    HI SHIRLEY LE GRADE:

    PLEASE CONTACT CRAIG DOWNER @ ccdowner@yahoo.com

    ANOTHER LINK IS LIFESAVERS; Do you want me to copy your email to the rescue who just saved 127 Mustangs last week?

    let me know; this is urgent ! ! ! thanks ! LET’S SAVE LEGACY !

    The Gelding who suffered during his unnecessary gelding!

  12. Anna says:

    speaking of telephone numbers…whenever I write an email to the BLM; invariably they ask me “to give them a call…
    and then they give a tel. no.; which I never have called ;

    i understand why; if you call the BLM they trace your telephone no. and investigate me; the caller;

    they could care less what the person has to say; “blm = buncha nickompoops (sp.?); BLM does not listen to the public!
    SAVE THE MUSTANGS !

  13. Lisa G. says:

    Can anyone tell me if Return to Freedom is bidder CA4920 for the current BLM sale authority horses?

  14. Polly says:

    As of this morning there are 15 horses with no bids. Lets continue after this is over to try to find relatively wild homes or lets get a trainer to work with us and do an incentive fund where proceeds go to continue to help their wild brethren, or to save more horses.

  15. Polly says:

    Did anyone find a place for Legacy?

    • jan eaker says:

      he had a bid on him, so I’d assume so,

    • Anna says:

      Hi Anne,

      I did my absolute best. It almost worked out. The sanctuary was not able to get Legacy’s bid. We are told that an experienced wild horse owner has bid on Legacy, so he will have a home. The people will definitely be told that if things don’t work out, he will be welcome at the sanctuary. BLM cannot and does not disclose who the buyers are, but the sanctuary is assured that this is a good home for this young horse.

      I am so sorry it didn’t work out the other way. I truly did my absolute best for this little guy. We all have done our best. Sigh.
      Elyse

  16. jan eaker says:

    I counted 12, I think it will be hard to keep track of them, this is their 1st strike, if they are sent to other adoption sites, we may lose them in the nightmare of BLM tracking???? system

  17. Laura Leigh says:

    I’m going to try to get an update out soon.

    Working in many directions…..

  18. Anna says:

    oh I see; so if these Mustangs do not get adopted on this try
    they get two other chances…

    somewhat comforting; but not much; what about the Sale Mustangs…

    that should be illegal for the blm to “sell rounded up ‘Stangs!

    they always empahsize adoptions; but so many get sold…
    sadly; anna wahpoose conn. usa 1951

  19. Anna says:

    WHAT I DON’T GET IS THIS:

    The BLM says The Mustangs will be made available for Adoption;

    and then they “sell them…(@ auction? )

    what’s up with that? An Auction is not the same as A Sale !

    so when the BLM says: “we do not sell….any horses…”they are lying thru their “rotten stinkin’ teeth; excuse my lingo !

  20. Anna says:

    Question:

    What’s the difference between:

    A BLM Adoption…and

    A BLM highest bid sale?

    Is a Sale the same as an Acution?

    so in other words: the BLM adopts out AND Acutions…

    The American Mustang rounded up from USA Public Land ?

    THAT IS SINISTER ! to feign adoption and then “sell auction!

    STOP THE MADNESS: Speak out…if you dare..STOP THE BLM

  21. Polly says:

    Have the horses been picked up and relocated to RTF yet?

  22. Kelly says:

    Reading the posts am I right in thinking that sanctuary got all the studs and they will be kept in a batchelor pack – please tell me they are all safe.

  23. Anna says:

    umm….I think they got some of the wild stallions; not all tho’

Leave a Reply

