My Country

This youtube is just random shots. I took all but the one of me, Elyse Gardner took that one.

I love my country.

I was raised in a family filled with service to country. A grandfather that served in two World Wars. Uncles in various branches of military and a father and uncle that were police officers. Being an American really meant something to me growing up.

As we get older the recognition of the fragile reality of our world and the human vulnerabilities of our idols begins to shape who we become.

“No man left behind” became a childhood concept that stood in contrast to the things I witnessed…

But I still believe in my country.

I still believe we will find a way to protect our wild places.

I still believe we can rise to the economic hardships and not loose sight of human rights and environmental issues.

I still believe in my country.

Yet in 4 short days the gather will begin in Owyhee.

In 4 short days we will have babies just days old run by helicopter miles and miles over the desert floor. They will struggle to keep up with their families as they flee from the threat from above into traps… never to be free… and those will be the lucky ones. How many will perish in flight? How many will perish after the gather? We will never know…

The public will not be allowed to witness. We will not be allowed in until the 22nd of July.

Please write your Congressman and media… this is not acceptable. Not with this track record…

All of this will be done as public land is used to create private profit off the backs of the American taxpayer. While you have your Congressional rep on the phone let them know we want a full cost recovery system on our land… no more tenants that can’t operate responsibly. Particularly now, as so many Americans struggle to find work and make ends meet, a system that bleeds more from the taxpayer can not continue.

Just a thought for tonight…

… celebrate the birth of our nation by creating a place of peace, not of war. The sounds of war will fill the air and terrorize both domestic animals and wildlife. Human PTSD survivors will have a hard time, too.

Sing to your dog… play Mozart in your barn…

Happy Birthday, America. I still believe in you.

8 thoughts on “My Country

  1. jan eaker says:

    I still believe, too, but it’s getting harder and harder,

  2. I agree with you, Jan. It’s getting very hard. Remember on the other thread where I said “Against the Wind” was my favorite Bob Seger song? One of the reasons it’s my favorite is this line, “Wish I didn’t know now what I didn’t know then.” That says it all for me right now…

    Have a safe and quiet 4th everyone. I spent time in my barn with my horses.

  3. Happy 4th to the wild horse and burro advocates! Take care my friends. mar

  4. EquidAdvocateAgainstSlaughter says:

    It’s hard to think God Bless America when mankind is so hell bent on damning it because of greed. All we can do is continue fighting for our horses and ask God to protect them.

    ~”Nobody made a greater mistake than he who did nothing because he could do only a little.” ~Edmund Burke

  5. We must all pray with a vengence to God Almighty to help us, because obviously nobody else is going to. I pray all through out the day and night for a miracle, and I take my bible to work with me. Who gave Man the right to do what they are currently doing to innocent animals? God certainly didn’t! If I lived anywhere near Owyhee, I’d saddle up with some riding buddies and somehow interfere and screw-up this roundup. How dare they! I’m sorry, but I’m not very proud of my country right now. How can you respect ANYTHING OR ANYBODY who not only continually ignores its people’s pleas…but shits on you as well? I am so heartbroken and disgusted with Congress, the Senate, AND our so-called administration! Happy July 4th, Laura. You write absolutely beautifully. Susie

    • Anna says:

      “The fate of animals is of greater importance to me
      than the fear of appearing ridiculous;
      it is indissolubly connected with the fate of men.”
      – Emile Zola (1840-1902)

      A righteous man regards the life of his animals.” Proverbs 12:10

  6. Anna says:

    IMO ANNA blm “breeds mustangs purposely…

    ITS A BREED THEM IN THE WILD; ROUND THEM UP; SELL THEM SCHEME BEING CONDUCTED BY THE BLM.GOV…breed ’em; round ’em up; sell ’em SCHEME !
    the cycle has been going on for atleast 25 years ! sad!

    WHAT THE BLM DOES IS THIS:
    THEY LEAVE A GOOD PERCENTAGE OF MALES MINGLED WITH FEMALES IN THE WILD; SOMETIMES THE BLM ADDS “STALLIONS AND UNFIXED MARES TO THE HERD…WHY WOULD THE BLM “ADD STALLIONS AND UNFIXED MARES TO ANY USA HERD AREA?
    WHY ? BECAUSE THEY WANT TO BREED THE MUSTANGS IN THE WILD…

    THEN FALSELY SAY; TOO MANY MUSTANGS !

    THEN THEY ROUND THEM UP AND THEN THE BLM SELLS THE MUSTANGS OR ADOPTS THEM OUT AND THIS IS THE KEY
    THE BLM OFFICIALS GET PAID AN ANNUAL SALARY AND THEY GET PAID CASH FOR EACH MUSTANG THEY SELL OR ADOPT OUT
    SO THE BLM CONDUCTS
    BREEDING MUSTANGS IN THE WILD
    ROUNDING THEM UP
    ADOPTING SOME OUT
    SELLLING SOME POCKETING THE CASH
    SO WHAT THE BLM OFFICIALS ARE DOING
    “A BREED THE MUSTANGS IN THE WILD; ROUND THEM UP; AND SELL THEM SCHEME;
    SO THE ONLY VIABLE ANSWER IMO TO STOPPING THE MUSTANG AND BURRO ROUNDUPS IS:
    CONGRESS
    AN EXECUTIVE ORDER FROM PRESIDENT
    OR AN INVESTIGATION RESULTING IN CRIMINAL CHARGES…
    THE BLM SHOULD BE INVESTIGATED ON CRIMINAL CHARGES FOR
    CAUSING INJURIES
    NOT FEEDING FOALS
    NOT PROVIDING SHADE OR ADEQUATE FEED;
    THE BLM PURPOSLEY INJURES MUSTANGS;
    BY ROUNDING THEM UP WITH HELICOPTER
    SO THEY TRIP SOME FALL SOME PERISH
    LIKE A LITTLE BUCKSKIN FOAL A FEW YRS
    ago; who was a teeny foal; rushed by a helicopter; the teen buckskin foal
    BROKE HER NECK
    so the BLM put a “cast on the foal’s neck…
    THEN THE FOAL “PERISHED; THE FOAL WENT TO SEE HER MAKER
    ALL DUE TO THE BLM ROUNDUPS…
    I RECENTLY READ THIS
    172 MUSTANGS FROM ANOTHER HERD AREA
    PERISHED AFTER BEING TRANSPORTED TO PALAMINO VALLEY
    WHEN YOU ADD 100 FALLON TO 172 PVC
    THAT IS 272 MUSTANGS “GONE GONE GONE
    AND THE BLM SAYS
    THEY PROTECT MUSTANGS ?
    THAT IS BLASHPHEMY BORDERING ON PERJURY…
    I WELCOME ANY INVESTIGATIONS RE BLM
    ANNE CONN USA A PRIVATE CITIZEN..

  7. Jo De George says:

    America needs to earn God’s blessings. We have become a nation full of avarice and greed where money is the only thing we worship. God help us to find our way out of this mess we call America.

Leave a Reply

