My Country

This youtube is just random shots. I took all but the one of me, Elyse Gardner took that one.

I love my country.

I was raised in a family filled with service to country. A grandfather that served in two World Wars. Uncles in various branches of military and a father and uncle that were police officers. Being an American really meant something to me growing up.

As we get older the recognition of the fragile reality of our world and the human vulnerabilities of our idols begins to shape who we become.

“No man left behind” became a childhood concept that stood in contrast to the things I witnessed…

But I still believe in my country.

I still believe we will find a way to protect our wild places.

I still believe we can rise to the economic hardships and not loose sight of human rights and environmental issues.

I still believe in my country.

Yet in 4 short days the gather will begin in Owyhee.

In 4 short days we will have babies just days old run by helicopter miles and miles over the desert floor. They will struggle to keep up with their families as they flee from the threat from above into traps… never to be free… and those will be the lucky ones. How many will perish in flight? How many will perish after the gather? We will never know…

The public will not be allowed to witness. We will not be allowed in until the 22nd of July.

Please write your Congressman and media… this is not acceptable. Not with this track record…

All of this will be done as public land is used to create private profit off the backs of the American taxpayer. While you have your Congressional rep on the phone let them know we want a full cost recovery system on our land… no more tenants that can’t operate responsibly. Particularly now, as so many Americans struggle to find work and make ends meet, a system that bleeds more from the taxpayer can not continue.

Just a thought for tonight…

… celebrate the birth of our nation by creating a place of peace, not of war. The sounds of war will fill the air and terrorize both domestic animals and wildlife. Human PTSD survivors will have a hard time, too.

Sing to your dog… play Mozart in your barn…

Happy Birthday, America. I still believe in you.