Question of the Day for the BLM

If you zero out an HMA that has no other use but natural gas… doesn’t that now mean that an HMA is being managed for exclusive use? (not related to horses)

If you want to remove the horses from the area now called “HMA,” yet the surrounding area once referred to as “HA” could support them, why don’t you take down fences and just move them over? (You wouldn’t need new legislation for that)

What are we doing to our last wild places?

Surface natural gas pipeline (horses fading into the distance)
15 thoughts on “Question of the Day for the BLM

  1. Jan Eaker says:

    Laura, I’m not a BLM spokesperson, but here’s my answer, they are being destroyed, here is a link to an article in NWF magazine about how DOI/BLM is not promoting multi-use, they are all about single-use,(OUR public lands are being destroyed by the pursuit of oil and gas) and that is energy use:

    http://www.nwf.org/News-and-Magazines/Animal/Archives/2010/The-Dirty-Truth-Behind-Clean-Natural-Gas.aspx

    Here is another scary fact, however much oil is already in the GUlf, takes America 3 HOURS to go through. I am learning all I can about ways to get off the grid. Like hand washing machines, corn stoves, etc.

    • savewildhorses says:

      Not only that Jan, we also are willing to risk the Artic National Wildlife Refuge for an amount of oil that would only last a few months at the most.

      • Jan Eaker says:

        I know SWH, it’s crazy and scary, that DC can even contemplate continued drilling is unbelievable to me,
        the politicians need to wake up, there’s 2 guys sparring right now in IL, i am telling both of them that I ONLY care about what they plan to do to make this a better place to live, to help the horses, animals and environment, not why they can’t stand each other. I am SO sick of politics as usual in AMerica!

      • Laura Leigh says:

        I already believe as much. But it feels so different having actually seen it with my own eyes.
        No one can stand there and say “no we aren’t,” to my face anymore.

        If what I saw yesterday is what is planned for Northern Nevada, roads will criss-cross all the areas Ruby pipeline runs through and permits will sit like mailboxes at the roadside while trucks speed down them without a care.

    • Laura Leigh says:

      A number of BLM employees read my blog.
      Hoping one of them actually decides that this is worth responding to.

      • Jan Eaker says:

        I hope so too! honestly, too also there’s a new link to vote to get Salazar gone on Animal Law Coalition’s website, I think I sent it to you,

      • Suzanne says:

        I hope someone from the BLM responds too. How can they – or anyone – accuse US of being “unreasonable” and “impossible to talk to” when they NEVER even make an effort to actually talk to any of us IN GOOD FAITH. We would have to be utter fools to take them at their word without any actions to back it up.

        Your question is extremely provocative. If I were only rich, I’d hire a lawyer and run with it. It’s little things like this that tend to be the things that eventually trip the bad guys up. Remember, they got Al Capone on tax evasion!

        Oh yeah. I was reading a quote from a Ruby employee – I’ve read it before – and he was saying that if anyone said that Ruby could put this pipeline in without destroying the environment around it, they were wrong. He said, “It’s going to look like Hiroshima.”

    • Linda says:

      Guess I’d better renew my subscription to “Mother Earth News” and get out my old “Foxfire” books. Never did learn how to can fruits & veggies, but I do know how to knit, crochet, weave, and sew on a treadle machine. If things go south, maybe I can barter.

      I saved quite a few ’70s magazines with passive/active solar home plans (leftovers from my hippie days). Lately I’ve been looking at them more and more often.

  2. Jan Eaker says:

    Linda, I think we are all going to have to stop doing things differently, I recycle EVERYTHING, canning is easy for me, I do remember when my kids were little, we went on one of those field trips to a 17th century village, I watched as the women carded wool and spun thread and wove cloth and told my kids that they would have had 1 outfit a year! making soap and canning and plowing with a mule, no problem! doing all the clothing stuff, no way! I WOULD have to barter that part, I can knit and crochet and sew, but getting the thread, OMG, no way!

  3. Linda says:

    Laura, I totally agree with your comments. I’m a bit giddy from a day in the sun and wind working with the horses.

  4. savewildhorses says:

    Just in case you haven’t seen this yet–a viable plan from Neda DeMayo of Return to Freedom. It may mean freedom for the Calico horses. Good news for a change!
    http://www.thecloudfoundation.org/index.php/news-events-a-media/press-releases/374-hope-for-captured-nevada-mustangs-in-new-plan-return-to-freedom-6110

    • Laura Leigh says:

      This is one of several proposals given to the BLM in the last year or so that I know of.
      In order for this to work the BLM will have to approve the conversion of cattle AUM’s on Kudrna’s ranch (private land owner at Soldier Meadows) to horses.
      “Freedom” will only come if BLM range data supports a release from the facility (Kudrna’s ranch). If data does not support release the horses stay at the facility.
      That is how I understand it.

      However it is a far better option to long term warehousing unless the BLM uses the presence of horses at Soldier Meadows to imply that horses are “represented” at the Calico Complex and therefore numbers on the range can be dropped.

      I have a headache tonight trying to decipher the various methods used for statistics in the DOI. It is either extremely incompetent or brilliant in it’s complex layers to hide BS. So I apologize for the cynical outlook.

Leave a Reply

