In Memory of Mary Dann

Born January 1, 1923

Died April 22, 2005

I was given a copy of American Outrage at Christmas time by Lacy J. Dalton. I was told “You understand but  you need to watch this as part of your understanding.”

I don’t watch much television and it’s hard for me to sit still long enough to watch a film… so the DVD went into the boxes I carry in my pick up.

I’m getting ready to hit the road again and decided I would sit still for a minute and watch the film.

This film is an amazing testimonial to the strength and spirit of the Dann sisters. Embroiled in a battle with the US government over their right to use their own land for so many years and in such an outrageous fashion, yet it never removed their humanity.

Many of us know the story. But Lacy was right… now I know the story.

If you haven’t seen the video you can order a copy at the WIN website. WIN is a non profit devoted to the “freedom, safety and well being of the WIN Western Shoshone Indian Horse Herd. You can pick up copies of Lacy’s CD in the shop at the site, too. All sales go to care for the horses.

Jean Marie of WIN is the source of my camera that covered the Calico round up. Without it I would not have captured the images I did of Little Hope, the foal whose feet sloughed off.

Considering today’s date I thought sharing this with you was important.

5 thoughts on “In Memory of Mary Dann

  1. mustangdreams... Cat Kindsfather says:

    Thanks for posting this information, especially on Earth Day! I had not known about this, but surely would like to read the book. Happy Earth Day Laura <3.
    Thank you for all you do for our mustangs.

  2. Hmmm, this sounds like something very interesting.. mar

  3. SANDRA LONGLEY says:

    i HAD RUN ACROSS THE DANN SISTERS IN MY RESEARCH OF LAWSUITS AGAINST THE BLM…a COURAGEOUS LONG FIGHT, ALL THE WAY TO THE SUPREME COURT.. SHOULD BE AN EXCELLENT READ, AND AN EXCELLENT MOVIE AT SOME POINT

    • Laura Leigh says:

      It is a documentary film. I watched it last night….
      : )
      All the way to the UN and a UN recommendation in 2006 that I am trying to see if there was EVER any response to.

  4. jan eaker says:

    Laura, thank you, I have heard of the Dann sisters and their long fight to keep their land and their horses, I never knew the horrible fate that awaited their horses. I’m thankful so many survived to live the good life again.

Leave a Reply

