Good-bye 2011?

 

As I watch the clock on the screen of the computer make it’s countdown to the end of 2011 I am indulging in the “year in review” mental gymnastics we all find ourselves victim of on this night. We face all the memories and the “would, coulda, shoulda” that leads to the common practice of “New Years Resolution’s.”

My data bank had a snafu and I had to rebuild the photo and video library. In the last three months more than 30,000 images and 10,000 video clips were added. Last night I began to put the “Year in Review” into a video short. Maria Daines has once again sent me a clip to use.

Setting the year into a “less than 7 minute” piece was a rough edit. There were so many faces, stories and memories I had to leave out. But I think you will get an idea of what I was able to capture on media last year.

In January both of the legal battles I have made go to hearings. Reading the cases is like an odd biography of my life these last two years… it has been a very “educational” experience on so many levels. I never knew your hair could break off from the condensation of an exhale freezing in sub-zero temperatures… or that I could change a tire in a snowstorm on a desert two-track alone. Add to that what you learn about how the government works and how it fails. How deep prejudice can run…

The work has created changes. We have “observation” (or at least the pretense) daily. We now have talk about humane care standards that unfortunately is still just talk… but both of those issues are still active in the court system. Both of these issues have been the focus of almost every action I have taken… it is an odd realization. But both have so far to go…

A “Resolution?” Smarter, stronger, faster… focus…

A “wish?” May the 2012 “year in review” video show change for the better… and and end to the prejudice on public land against our wild ones.

The clock has changed… Happy New Year to all of you and your families. Two and four legged… furred and feathered… and scaled.

Follow the roundups at http://WildHorseEducation.org