Reflection….

Callaghan Christmas 2010

Woke up to hit the road and it is snowing. Forecast calls for snow all day so I will leave tomorrow… I can’t wait any longer. Much of the travel was worse last year and the dog, the truck and I made it through just fine. I know they will be flying… and I sit here and review documentation and log and file and send… and look at each face. I will leave tomorrow while it’s light and not chance the overnight drive… I know they will be flying.

But wanted to share this again… fuel for fire that will keep me warm…

Made this in June before the July roundups began…

no one sings it like Maria Danes…

22 thoughts on “Reflection….

  1. Barbara Warner says:

    Evil people who harm innocent animals like our wild horses should go to hell.
    JMHO.

  2. Louie Cocroft says:

    Barbara, “they” have already created their own Hell. It’s a bed they made and they will have to lay in it.

    • Barbara Warner says:

      Louie, they have made and continue ro make it hell on Earth for our wild horses and burros and that affects us too. I never thought that in my lifetime I’d see these precious equines pushed to the brink of extinction.
      Notice no stallions or colts at the adoptions. All are being gelded .

  3. Louie Cocroft says:

    Laura, you are doing some historic work here. This is a good interview…watch for the Rainbow:

    Ken Burns & Dayton Duncan Interview/DOCUMENTARY ON THE HISTORY OF THE NATIONAL PARKS

  4. Mar Wargo says:

    Glad you waited. Good to be out in the light and when the temps are not the lowest! be careful…

  5. virginia schmidt says:

    I think someone should round up BLM and chase them into the pens and truck them like they are doing to the animals they are abusing. Perhaps then they can understand! and if not then they aren’t human.

  6. Louie Cocroft says:

    Barbara, I know that Justice isn’t working fast enough for any of us….but it DOES work…GUARANTEED. It just seems to work in it’s own time and in its own mysterious way and we have to help it along. My Grandmother said that it was about the ONLY thing worth living to be 82…seeing that, eventually “the basta…s do get what they deserve”.

  7. Barbara Warner says:

    Well, Louie, I only have 9 years and about 2 more months to wait then. However, yesterday Carla Bowers sent out an attachment with numbers she sent to the NAS committee and according to the BLM’s own numbers there were only 21,354 WH&B’s still free as of 2-28-11. More have been removed since then.The BLM’s targeted high AML is 26,600 and the low is 16,000-18,000. So at the number of planned removals for FY2012 and so much PZP being given how many do you think will be left by then ? I don’t know how to get the attachment put here but anybody who wants it can Email me at bkwarner@windstream.net .

    Roundup schedule for our wild ones.
    http://www.blm.gov/wo/st/en/prog/whbprogram/herd_management/tentative_gather_schedule.html

    Data of all removed in FY11
    http://www.blm.gov/wo/st/en/prog/whbprogram/herd_management/Data/completed_fy_11_gathers.html

    Laura is doing a terrific job documenting all of the removals even with BLM tying her hands. All her hard work will pay off soon I believe as the WH&B can’t wait as long as I can.

  8. Louie Cocroft says:

    Barbara, I have to tell you that my Grandmother was NOT a passive person. She believed that Justice needed a PUSH. Long story, but a government department where she worked ended up being shut down. She had refused to take orders that she knew WERE WRONG. That’s what we’re doing…PUSHING. I don’t think any of us have let up since we started.
    Laura deserves all of the back-up that we can give her. She is doing this for all of us.

  9. Barbara Warner says:

    Louie, I agree Laura deserves all the back up we can give her, and I know we are pushing. I don’t understand exactly why you are telling me that. I have been trying my best to help Laura and meant these figures only for information for everybody to help her even more if posssible.

  10. Louie Cocroft says:

    I’m sorry, Barbara….I didn’t mean to get on my soapbox. Just a warm-up, I guess. Sometimes things don’t come in print like they do when you are just talking. I know we are all on the same page.

    • Barbara Warner says:

      That’s OK, Louie, you are one of the best advocates. I think we all feel frustrated and after 20 years or so I know I do. I was up too late last night on this PC and am paying for it today. Old age sucks and I wish I could do more.

  11. Louie Cocroft says:

    How’s about we send Laura those numbers that you mentioned, Barbara….from Carla. She could post them on Wild Horse Education

  12. Louie Cocroft says:

    …and then get them to this Representative that Hoofhugs mentioned earlier:

    http://SIMPSON.HOUSE.GOV/

    WASHINGTON, DC OFFICE
    2312 Rayburn House Office Building, Washington, D.C. 20515
    T: 202-225-5531 F: 202-225-8216

  13. Barbara Warner says:

    Good idea, Louie. I was hoping she’d see them. My PC is acting up but I’ll try to send her the attachment and the roundup and removals info.
    Can you Fax them toSimpson? Thanks

  14. Louie Cocroft says:

    Affirmative, Barbara. You and your PC get some rest

  15. Honor Hannon says:

    Dear Friend,

    The combination of the music(what a powerful message) and your filming is the best work you have done so far (in my humble opinion).
    What you are portraying is immense and sense-less cruelty to wild horse families. I am appalled and horrified. What this says about the human race!!!!Do we deserve to live on?

  16. Christie says:

    We mist live on because those of us with the determination, intelligence, and courage to fight for these animals, and fight for the idea that no one is above the law, is the only hope our horses have.

    But I must remind you that both the House and the Senate have legislation drafted that would deny us the right to sue the government on behalf of the wild ones. This legislation denies people who will not be financially harmed from suing the government. Interestingly enough both of these bills are sponsored by Wyoming Congressional members. Our good friend Repreesentative Cynthia Lummis is sponsoring the House version and the Senate bill — I don’t remember. These people feel like Interior’s hands are being too tightly held. The name of the Bill is the Government Litigation Savings Act, H. B, 1996.

    There are 58 co-spomsors listed on the official record, and 80 co-sponsors on the e-lobby. The pro-slaughter people in thenWest have been calling their Senators and Reprentatives since June because they have been told this bill would prevent HSUS from suing to stop horse slaughter. This is a bad bill, butmI am afraid be ause the title suggests it will help save the government money, it may pass without the scrutiny it deserves.

    Pleae call, fax, write your Representatives and tell them to,vote no on this bill, and if they have signed on as co-sponsors, politely ask them to re-consider this decision.

  17. Christie says:

    Unrelated, but I am curious where Laura calls home other than her truck. I know she needs every dollar she can get to do her work, but I think it might be nice to offer her something a massage or something that could nurture her in the area where she lives. Maybe a meal or two at a restaurant she might not choose for herself. One cannot live on peanut butter and chips alone. I know what can happen to your body when the passion that drives you takes over your entire life, and it.can wreck your health. Laura deserves better. So just curious about the area, GPS not needed.

    • Mar Wargo says:

      Christie, We want Laura to have better quarters and to be able to cook and not have to eat only peanut butter… We have found a little trailer and are going to purchase it if it checks out. So we will be raising money for that soon. We will post something here when it is arranged. It will add to her mobility and save money in the long run while she will be able to unpack the truck and have a new space for herself and her work.

      working on it

  18. Mar Wargo says:

    LAura, Do NOT read!! Ha ha!!

    If you want to, Christie, you might start a Christmas fund for LL. We can ask her what she needs personally and then find something special she can enjoy. Some of us have been sending her a few things in the past but it is time to do so again. She loved some homemade goodies from Barb Steele last winter. More of that would be great. Maybe someone would like to be sure she and Elric have a great Thanksgiving dinner somewhere also. I think that would be wonderful, generous and greatly appreciated! Tose of us who are regulars can surely pull together a few things, don’t you think?

Leave a Reply

