Message from Rob Pliskin

 Advocate Rob Pliskin sent this update on his “One man Silent Vigil for our horses” for me to share.

Thanks, Rob.

Rob Pliskin with Duster and Mel (Tracy Gantz)

Silent Vigil Update – Stand On Up, Sir!

Monday August 9, 2010 – Cleveland, Federal Building Plaza.  Hot and humid.  People going in and out still stopping for info and flyers!  The keynote for today was laid on me by a government employee who I had met and given literature to before.  On his way across the plaza for lunch with a group, he gave me a smile and a nod, a genuine fist pump and a “Stand On Up, Sir!” loud enough for everyone to hear. 

First one to take a flyer was the Federal Protection Officer who was my first contact months ago.  He stayed for half an hour and took literature. 

Then there was the disabled U.S. Navy sailor, with wrapped legs, who came and talked for half an hour, and showed me the check he had already cut for 500 dollars to WWF.  A kindred spirit.  He first hesitated but later wanted literature.

Next, another serviceman with relatives in NV who wanted to know what was going on, because he knew about the horses from his relatives.  They all needed their eyes opened, and truly cared.

More people came, a couple doing business in the building, another employee, all interested.  One employee said she would contact one of the local TV stations. Another employee who had rescued a horse, and another who just wanted to know. 

Not one disagreeable person among them all.  

Many want to know what I’m doing out there, holding a lead rope and open halter, my literature under a saddle blanket.  Many come up with a little quip, which I smile at.  Something like, “Lost your horse?”  They are really just interested, not mean.  It’s perfect, because it allows me to deliver the needed straight line about the roundups. 

And how it bothers me to be so real, and so timely, to have to deliver it, that it is necessary to say, yes, and they are getting ready to start another one this Wednesday….

The People want to know folks.  Find some way of telling them.  Be sure there will be someone telling you , Stand On Up!   And many more glad you did. 
  Loading…

14 thoughts on “Message from Rob Pliskin

  1. Carol Poole says:

    My daughter and I have been doing just that Rob for the past 2 years. We attend horse shows and conferences, equine days etc etc and pass out leaflets.
    My car is a rolling billboard. We need more folks to do likewise. Lots of information available to print out at http://www.thecloudfoundation.org or http://www.wildhorsepreservation.org and many more listed on this page on the right hand side.
    The horses can’t wait forever….their numbers are dwindling every day.
    Just 1 person CAN make a difference.

    ‎”I am only one, but I am one. I cannot do everything, but I
    can do something. And I will not let what I cannot do interfere with what I can do.” ~ Edward Everett Hale “

  2. Anna says:

    Hi Rob:

    my comment to you is: “that’s really good…thank you…a.

    and to Carole;

    thanks for what you do and thanks for the quote; I had not heard this one: I have heard one similar but this one is better
    ”I am only one, but I am one. I cannot do everything, but I
    can do something. And I will not let what I cannot do interfere with what I can do.” ~ Edward Everett Hale “

    ps I like this one too i heard on NPR Radio…

    “it is not about what you don’t have; rather; it is about “what you do with what you have…ps Madeline Pickens on NPR tomorrow 9 AM…ps that blm just blatantly lies on every pg.!

  3. Anna says:

    ps to Carole: is your car really a “rolling billboard? sounds cool; I am trying to imagine what a car with posters of Wild Mustangs on it would look like; nice ! I could atleast put some posters on my windows on my front door; thanks !

    to Rob: I’ll forward your poster to someone today ! thnx. a.

  4. Anna says:

    2010PliskinVigil

    an excellent pamphlet…if you press the bottom link on pg.2

    you will go to a wild mustang preservation page; on this page is the video about the “BLM Scandal; parts I and II

    the blm is a mighty foe and very difficult to “overcome…

    but the Mustangs beauty and perserverance will prevail;

    the American people will find a way to “Stop the Roundups!
    until one follows a daily roundup one does not perceive…a.

  5. Anna says:

    http://www.wildhorsepreservation.org for blm corruption videos…

    can download Bob’s pamphlet @ Silent Vigil Rob Pliskin

    only trying to be helpful…A

    Laura: are your Christmas Painted Ornaments on sale yet ?

  6. Kathy Mahan says:

    Hey Rob, I love seeing your notes pop up on the blogs. Love to you from Symphony & I for what you are doing for her fellow mustangs.. She still isn’t a big fan of playing musical cones, but remains my beloved companion and source of peace in these challenging times.

  7. Darcy says:

    Rob it is an awesome thing you do & Carol, I am going to make my truck into a rolling billboard :). May be something little but it is something :) Thank you, to Rob, Carol & all the other advocates in this fight.

  8. Linda says:

    To Rob, Laura, Carol and her daughter, and all those across the country who stand up for the wild ones – I’m so proud of you! And I’m grateful to everyone who stops and takes the time to listen and learn.

    Change comes one painful step at a time, especially for government. But, in the end, change will come and we must make sure it comes in time to save our American Mustangs & Burros.

    Truth to power!

  9. Laura Houston says:

    awsome update, thanks so much for spreading the word about our wild ones!

  10. Anna says:

    http://www.wildhorsepreservation.org/news/?p=1530

    “one small step for mankind; one giant leap for the Mustangs!

    • Rob Pliskin says:

      All I have to do is read the story in this link and see the photos of these horses, and after I weep, be renewed with the knowledge in my heart and mind regarding what this is all about.

      See ya, Rob

  11. Anna says:

    comment: Yahoo news has been updating the Wild Mustang Roundup near the Calif. Nevada Border; so by posting comments on The Yahoo! news story page; many will read…

    the greater number of people who read the posts; the greater number of people will understand “the blasphemy…

    the corruption; the lies; the falsification of documents; like the way the BLM was supposed to wait until Sept. Roundup for the Foals…how many Foals perished at Calico and Tuscarora in total ? REMEMBER THE TUSCARORA TWELEVE!
    (the first 12 Mustangs to go down; followed by 30 + others

  12. Anna says:

    Anna this is a summary of my opinion on the blm’s Hay:
    Jul 11, 2010 @ 06:16:56

    Hi Mr. Lamm: from Anna “wahpoose of conn usa animal rights pacifist…(and activist; a pacifist by being a long term ovo lacto Vegetarian)

    I read your post on the Mustang Project but they do not post my posts so i write here; you asked me: what am I doing for the Mustangs; am I out west buidling corrals; taking surveys; etc. ?

    answer: no: I live in Conn. a small rural type state of the usa we do not have nor have had any wild mustangs around here for time

    so what do I do? what I do is “I study nutrition; I study the nutritional requirements of Mammals; Birds; Fish; people; plants!

    and so I can see the “Nutritional deficiencies incurred on the Corraled Mustangs to a very high degree; I can see the faults and the inconsistenices of the feed management prog. by Sanford;
    where Sanford actually puts the weak pregnant mustangs on

    A LOW NUTRITON DIET

    now why; WHY WOULD A VET. put a “living pregnant Mare on a a low nutrition diet; even though the Mare is “eating for two ?
    why would Sanford deny Mustang mares the legal right to

    A HIGH NUTRITIOUS DIET?

    this is all written up in one of the HSUS Vet. reports from Fallon !
    so this is why “30 pregant mares perished at Fallon with foal inside

    and so I write to the BLM and I say: a low nutrition diet for prge. mares is the opposite of the prescribed protocol for preg. mares
    Preg. mares are to have a high nutrition diet with Flax; wheat bran!

    take for example the famous video of “downed mare Indian lake

    you see how the Mare struggles to stand up ? why; does the Mare have an external injury? NO; I took the video apart frame by frame and I have 2 frames where the downed mare actually stand up fine
    so she did not have an external injury such as a leg fracture; etc.

    So instead of RE FEEDING THE MARE a high nutritious diet; the BLM “threw a handful of OLD HAY MIXED WITH SAND !

    which spooked the mare; she fell down; and was “subsequently shot by the blm..

    what a spoof ! so that is what I do; I send nutritional info and comments to “officials; to the blm; to anyone who can read…

    what it is: there is a certain Vitamin named Thiamine Vitamin B1;
    what happens is; when a mustang is under stress; the Vitamin B1 is depelted; this causes the Mustang to be very weak and fall down

    and get this: ONE SHOT OF THIAMINE VITAMIN B1 can acutally get a downed mustang to stand up and begin eating in most cases

    this is the type of info I send to the BLM and officials; they don’t get it though; they don’t get what I am talking about see? this is becuz their intent is “not to save mustangs but to “thin the herd

    see imo Sanford denies a nutritious diet to preganant mares as a way to “thin out the herd…

    that is illegal to thin a herd by putting some on an low nutrition diet!

    I would like to discuss this issue; believe me Thiamine B1 works !

    Reply

    Anna
    Jul 11, 2010 @ 07:02:07

    To Mr. Lamm: (ps the dappled horse you have is stupendous ! )

    Mr. Lamm: this is a direct quote from the HSUS Vet. @ Indian L.;

    HSUS report on March 16th; 2010: wrtten by the HSUS Vet. !
    For instance, the adult stallions tend to have the highest body condition score. So their feed eventually needs to be adjusted to provide fewer calories with the same bulk. On the other hand, pregnant mares have by far the greatest energy needs, tend to have the lowest body condition scores, and are the most prone to metabolic problems as their feed improves from the range. Their diet must be slowly brought on to level where their energy needs are met and where they can gain weight. Dr. Sanford explained the feeding plan and preventative medicine program for each group.
    For instance, the adult stallions tend to have the highest body condition score. So their feed eventually needs to be adjusted to provide fewer calories with the same bulk…
    WHAT? the largest and heaviest mustangs get LESS CALORIES?
    Doesn’t Dr. Hock know? The larger the animal; the GREATER the Caloric needs; for example; would you put a BodyBuilder on Less calories than the average Joe? of course not; that would make the body builder lose his weight and his physique; so it is in this case:

    By Doc “Sandpit” Sanford putting the larger physique Mustangs
    on a diet which provides FEWER CALORIES is:
    “insane ! so that is what I do; i correct the mistakes of Doc Sandpit

    “quote: On the other hand, pregnant mares have by far the greatest energy needs, tend to have the lowest body condition scores, and are the most prone to metabolic problems as their feed improves from the range. Their diet must be slowly brought on to level where their energy needs are met and where they can gain weight.

    THEIR DIET MUST BE SLOWLY BROUGHT UP TO A LEVEL WHERE THEIR ENERGY NEEDS ARE MET AND GAIN WEIGHT

    Wrong ! the Pregnant Mustangs should have been aggresively treated with Nutrients; Pellets; mashes; good fiberous hay such as what they were used to eating out on the range…

    so Sanford gives Stallions and Mares LESS Nutrition; not extra nutrition; “how stupid is that ? they don’t save mustangs whatsoever; if your mustang was thin; would you give less feed?
    oh i don’t think so…talks soon; A. Studying nutrition for 5 decades!

    Reply

    Anna
    Jul 11, 2010 @ 07:08:27

    ps i call Vet. Sanford “Sandpit Sanford for leaving foals in sandpits(example: Hope the Foal was left alone in a sandpit for 3 days; no hay was given whatsoever; i think something “wrong with Sanford !

    a. he gives larger Mustangs LESS Calories? is he for real ?
    b. he gives Preg. mares nutrtion slowly over time; hey guess what?

    if you wait too long to give the Mare nutrition; the foal can “perish!
    dumb or what? and foals are born literally on to “burning sand lots!
    catch my drift? not trying to cause trouble; trying to right a wrong !
    Sandford must go on Imcompetancy !

Leave a Reply

