In Memory of Mary Dann

Born January 1, 1923

Died April 22, 2005

I was given a copy of American Outrage at Christmas time by Lacy J. Dalton. I was told “You understand but  you need to watch this as part of your understanding.”

I don’t watch much television and it’s hard for me to sit still long enough to watch a film… so the DVD went into the boxes I carry in my pick up.

I’m getting ready to hit the road again and decided I would sit still for a minute and watch the film.

This film is an amazing testimonial to the strength and spirit of the Dann sisters. Embroiled in a battle with the US government over their right to use their own land for so many years and in such an outrageous fashion, yet it never removed their humanity.

Many of us know the story. But Lacy was right… now I know the story.

If you haven’t seen the video you can order a copy at the WIN website. WIN is a non profit devoted to the “freedom, safety and well being of the WIN Western Shoshone Indian Horse Herd. You can pick up copies of Lacy’s CD in the shop at the site, too. All sales go to care for the horses.

Jean Marie of WIN is the source of my camera that covered the Calico round up. Without it I would not have captured the images I did of Little Hope, the foal whose feet sloughed off.

Considering today’s date I thought sharing this with you was important.

General

Many of you have written to me asking about General.

I have not written another chapter in “General’s Saga” and I apologize. Many tasks at hand but it is a story I want to share.

I am going to be a bit self-indulgent in responding to inquiries about General and just “talk.”

I love that old horse. From the moment I saw him that day he was captured he spoke to my soul. He has a presence that others have observed since that  day.

Elyse Gardner calls me every time she leaves the Broken Arrow to let me know that she has seen him. Elyse is rather fond of him, too. She gave me this video to share (General is at the beginning and the guy with the star next to him is Commander. True is at the end of the video). She has more footage of General from last Sunday and will send when she can.

I left the voices in. This piece lets you feel what it’s like to walk the facility. So many horses to view and so many questions to ask and never enough time.

General looks good, so does Commander. General slipped his tag off. I know his number and referenced some of the horses by number in correspondence with John Neill at the facility. John responded by using General’s name and said “we know you are watching out for him.” John told me that currently there are no plans to geld any of the older horses.

True is not with dad and seems a bit lost right now. He has a very sweet disposition and really seemed to need his father. Every picture I saw had him right behind dad. I wish I could put him back with the only family he had left…

True has not been gelded yet and I have a call in to see how they are doing.

I will be able to go see them again very soon. I get a lump in my throat when I think about it.

In my heart I just wish I could see General back out on the range…

20 years of survival as a wild stallion… and now?

Thanks for letting me talk about him….

Urgent Request

Valerie James Patton has sent an urgent request from http://www.journeysendranchanimalsanctuary.org

They are attempting to rescue the 15 mustangs left at the roadside in Fla.

The public auction is taking place now. If you can help contact info can be found in the above link.

I am working on an expanded story of what has happened to these horses and will post more info later.

UPDATE

Looks like they are all “safe.”

http://www.wpbf.com/news/23234331/detail.html